The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Sewing Room Makeover

Leave a comment

Once you see the room I used to sew in, you’ll understand why it needed a makeover. Are you ready? Here it is!

Before:

Craft Room BeforeCraft Room Makeover Needed

I’m not complaining too loudly. It was functional. But, the car on the wall, leftover from when I had a two-year-old in the room, was a bit out-dated. I also found out that the shelves in the corner weren’t nearly enough storage space for all the little things I needed to store. And, without staking my claim on the space, I was allowing it to become a catch-all room where we’d toss stuff – there was just a bunch of stuff. I don’t create well in a pile of stuff. Stuff. Stuff. Stuff. All that stuff needed a place or it needed to go away.

So I went nuts! I pulled everything out and put it in my bedroom for storage. It was totally uncomfortable to have all that in my bedroom and worked as a huge motivator to get the craft room done.

With a little help from Miss 5 1/2, who loves to paint, I painted the ceiling a lighter color and changed the walls to Bahama Sea Green.Every time I brushed the paint on the walls I cringed. It went on a much bluer and lighter color than it dried. Now that it’s all done, I love it. The room is bright, fresh, and full of possibilities.

Painting Helper

I also put up three sets of shelves and added a set of drawers. The thread organizer not only adds a splash of color to the room, it keeps my threads out of the drawers where I can see them. I used storage containers on the shelves to put like items together. The bottom right has a box of envelops and blank cards. The bins on the shelves on the left hold things like zippers, buttons, snaps, elastics, and bobbins. Most of the miscellaneous tools are stored away in the drawers. They aren’t pretty nor would they look good on their own so they are tucked away.

Craft Room Shelves

On the other side of the room (you can see the car is gone) I have one set of shelves and a blank space. That space is for my ironing board when I pull it out of the closet. It will also be the place that we set up an air mattress when guests come.

This set of shelves has scrapbooking supplies. Even though I don’t scrapbook anymore, I find the supplies good for school projects and entertaining kids for an afternoon.

Aqua Blue Craft Room

I decided to keep the sewing table in front of the window so I would have plenty of light as I worked on my projects. It also allows me a great view of the kids as they ride their bikes or play in the yard. I’m already planning my first project – fascia curtains! I think they’ll look beautiful against the aqua green. I’ll be sure to post a picture when I get them done.

Craft Room

I would love to hear your thoughts! Do you like the color? Would you keep the curtains white or go with the fuchsia? Feel free to let me know.

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

