The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Dr. Seuss Simple Lorax Costume

Leave a comment

March 7: Cindy C. Bennett • A Book a Day

LORAX COSTUME

Here’s a mother’s tid-bit of wisdom I’ve gained from having four children and making countless costumes: Children’s happiness with their costume is not proportionate to the amount of effort I put into said costume.

No, seriously, this is a real thing!

I’ve spent hours upon hours at the sewing machine covered in fake fur and itching my nose to get the same response that I’ve gotten for slapping something together at the last minute. Kids don’t care about the french seams, the button holes, or the perfect zipper – they care about the image representation.

For example, today is Dress as a Dr. Seuss Character Day at my kids’ school. At first, Mr. 9 wanted to be the cat in the hat, but we didn’t have the hat. So he decided he wanted to be the Lorax. He already had a pair of orange pants from when he was a chicken in the school Christmas program and he has an orange shirt, so we just needed something on his face.

Using the mask I found on this site: http://www.annakoriginals.com/the-lorax-costume/

And the glasses I found on this site: http://www.firstpalette.com/tool_box/printables/eyeglasses.pdf

we put together this look:

Lorax Costume

Is it perfect? No. Is it amazing? Not really. Is he happy? Undoubtedly, yes.

And that’s the point of all my efforts. I want my children to be happy. But they will be just as happy with a decent costume as they will with an opera house worthy creation. And, at the end of the night, I was able to drop into bed with a book instead of spend the evening with my sewing machine. Mom’s happy, kids are happy, the school is happy – everybody’s happy! That is a good day as a mom!

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

