The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Mother’s Day Gift Idea

Leave a comment

Mother’s Day is right around the corner. Usually I have it highlighted and circled in bright pink on the family calendar. This year, I’ve been so busy, I almost forgot. In fact, it wasn’t until we were sitting in church yesterday and the speaker mentioned that Mother’s Day was this coming Sunday that I realized the deadline. Not that I have much to do except find a way to remind Hubby. That usually happens with the calendar, but I had to resort to a higher level of memory trigger this year so I went to Ms. 5. 

“Hey,” I whispered so the family in front of us wouldn’t hear the conversation or think I was hunting for gifts. I’m really just thinking of the kids and how bad they would feel if they missed Mother’s Day. Mr. 7 is especially tender about these things and likes ample time to make a heart-felt card. 

“What?”

“You need to tell Daddy that Mother’s Day is next week.”

“Okay.”

** Later that day **

“Daddy?”

“Yes, Ms. 5.”

“Mommy says I need to tell you Mudder’s Day is next week.”

Hubby raises an eyebrow in my direction while I pretend not to hear what’s happening three feet away. Hey, I didn’t tell them what to get me…

If I had, I would mention the new book by Heather B. Moore and S. Kent Brown.

 

It’s full of wonderful incites on a woman’s divine roll and potential. 

“But an angel comes to the mother of Samson twice, indicating that the Lord sees her for who she really is…”

I found this to be one of the most powerful thoughts in Divinity of Women. As Samson’s mother is persecuted for her inability to carry a child, she may have begun to believe that she was cursed, that she was unworthy, or that she just wasn’t good enough. Despite the constant negative feedback from her neighbors, the Lord knew what kind of a woman she really was and he honored her, loved her, and looked to bring her comfort. How is this different from our day? We are constantly barraged with negative thoughts about our bodies, our abilities, our worthiness in the eyes of the world; and yet, the Lord sees us for who we really are and He loves us because of what we are at out core.

Divinity of Women is full of these little treasures that can help inspire us and teach us about the true relationship women have with their Father in Heaven. If you’re looking for a way to tell the woman/women in your life Happy Mother’s Day, this is a great way to do it.

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

