The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Blog Tag

Leave a comment

I’ve been recruited into a game of blog tag by my friend Taryn at taylorhartbooks.com. She is an awesome writer who I met at a writing conference last summer. We’ve been involved in an overwhelming and awesome project that I can’t wait to tell you about. In order to play tag, I need to answer a few questions she sent my way. Here we go.

What are you working on?

I think the better question would be, what am I not working on. 🙂

I’m under contract for a new slow cooker cookbook. The Hungry Family Slow Cooker Cookbook has done so well that the publisher and I decided another one was in order. It’s been a lot of fun and my family is enjoying every bit of the process.

You may not know this, but not only do I write cookbooks, I write clean romances under the name Lucy McConnell. I’ve teamed up with 5 amazing authors (including Trayn who tagged me today) to write Christmas romances. We will put them all a box set and have them ready for the holiday season. Box Set Full Cover

I am in the editing process of another clean romance. The Academic Bride is a story about an arranged marriage and a woman’s quest to achieve her dream. I’m hoping to have it out by Thanksgiving.

Also in the publishing world of things, I’m opening my doors for business soon with editing and cover design services. If you’d like more information, feel free to email me at PepinPublishingCompany@gmail.com.

Why do you write what you do?

I write cookbooks because I love to share recipes, try new things, and feel good about what I’m feeding my family. My husband and my kids are my motivation. Hey, we all have to eat – it might as well be delicious.

I write clean romances because deep down – okay, maybe not that deep – I am a sappy, love to cry, romantic. Happy endings are my favorite. And yeah, when you pick up a clean romance you know the guy and the girl are going to get together, but the fact that they overcome obstacles and have to struggle for their happy ending is where the true story lies. I mean, what kind of a story would Snow White have been if she’d never bit the apple? How about Cinderella? Would her story have been half as good without the wicked stepmother and social conventions? Nope. Nope. Nope. In that way, romances reflect life. Whether it’s a woman looking for her soul mate, a girl reconnecting with an old love, or a wife rediscovering her husband, romances speak to a part in each of us.

What’s your writing process?

For cookbooks, it’s a lot of trial and error. I spend months in the kitchen worrying over spices and tasting everything.

Fiction is different. Each book has it’s own origin story.  For example, Blue Christmas which is my contribution to the Christmas in Snow Valley romance anthology, grew out of several discussions with the other authors about book ideas, creating the Snow Valley world, and my own experience of living in a small community. Undercover Engagement was inspired by the question, “Can a sober person get married on accident?”

Undercover Engagement front cover

Once I have the main idea, I do a rough outline. I want to know I have an ending before I start a book. Then I’ll do a round of edits where I add in description, another one where I develop characters, and a third one where I smooth out rough edges and fill in plot holes. The book will then travel through 3 critique partners with changes after each. Then I do a final read through and send it off to the proofreader. It’s not a  fancy process and it takes a lot more time to do it all than it does to type it here. 🙂

Well, that’s it for my game of tag. Now I get to tag someone else. I’ve decided to tag one of my good friends, Kimberley Griffiths Little. She’s an award winning author and a wonderful lady. You can read about her writing process and find out what she’s working on here.

 

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

