The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Organizing the Holidays

Leave a comment

Has anyone else gone into panic mode that it’s November??!!

I know there are some wonderful women out there who don’t have the Holiday freak out when November starts, (thank your lucky stars) but I, and I’m sure there are many others like me, like to have things planned out. That’s why I am so excited about this new holiday organizer. Check out this bad boy.

organizerThe first thing that caught my eye was the 3-month at-a-glance calendar. November, December, and January – boom! Right there on one page. The reason I liked this so much was that I could see how overwhelmed we were or if I was packing too much into one week. I do that. It helps me schedule family down time so we can just enjoying being together.

The rest of the book is divided into each of the three months. I’m going to cover how awesome November is and then you’ll have to get your own copy to see the December and January. 🙂

The first page is a big monthly calendar. Perfect for keeping track of the kids’ football games and family events. Then, we get a to-do list. The thing I loved about this list is that there are check boxes. I LOVE to check things off. That’s the only reason I write a list. Those check boxes had be hugging the book to my chest! (I know, I’m kind of a freak that way. Do you ever write things on your to-do list that you’ve already done, just so you can check them off? I totally do that when I feel overwhelmed. It makes it look like I’ve accomplished more than I have.)

Next we have a budget page and a decoration page. How many planners have pages dedicated to decoration ideas? And, we all know how important it is to the kids to have decorations. Next is a guest list with contact info. The phone number line is great because how many times have you needed to call someone at the last minute and you cell phone is dead? (Or lost in a jacket pocket somewhere?)

Maybe you’re not the best at organizing the holidays and the idea of filling all this out stresses you out. Well, there’s something in here for you too. A Party Planning Countdown! Just follow this simple, step-by-step list and your Thanksgiving will be as easy as pumpkin pie.

Seriously, pumpkin pie is really easy.  But you don’t have to take my word for it, there’s a recipe right in the planner! Along with several pages of recipe cards for your traditional favorites. There’s shopping lists and a cooking schedule. You’ll want for nothing and think of everything because it’s all right here in one planner.

But, the best part, is that this book is also a memory catcher. There’s a couple pages where you can record your traditions, insert photos, and even reflect on the holiday. When it comes time to plan next year’s Thanksgiving, you can pull out this planner and remember that the cranberry sauce was runny or that the secret ingredient for the delicious turkey was lemon pepper.

I think this would make the perfect gift for the holidays. You can pick up a copy by clicking here.

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

