The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Crazy Days and Pumpkin Waffles

Leave a comment

The last two weeks have been INSANE around here!

The anthology my book, Blue Christmas, is a part of, hit #1 on 6 Amazon lists. What a blast that has been. You can check it out for 99 cents here.

In the midst of marketing, writing another book, family parties, Halloween, directing the adult and children’s choir at our church, and a family rock climbing adventure, I wanted to make a warm breakfast for my kids. Usually, because I wake up with a to-do list in one hand, we’re a cereal-for-breakfast kind of family. But, every once in a while, I like to send my kids out the door with a hearty breakfast. This recipe adaption for my waffle recipe works great.

These pumpkin waffles are easy to make and taste delicious. Since you start out with your basic waffle recipe (or waffle mix) that your family already adores, your kids are sure to love them!

Pumpkin Waffles

Your basic waffle recipe (or waffle mix and eggs/oil/water called for on the box)

1/2 of a can of pumpkin

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix it all together and throw it in the waffle iron. I like to serve ours with fresh whipped cream or organic whipped topping found in the freezer aisle, walnuts (only me and Mr. 8 will eat those) and blueberries. Also, I happened to have sugar free cranberry syrup today and it was de-vine on top.

I hope your family enjoys the flavors of fall as much as ours!

All the best!

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

