The Hungry Family

Feeding My Family Body and Soul

Calvin Sparks and the Crossing to Cambria

Leave a comment

As a kid, I think I made up my own world on a daily basis. It’s part of having an imagination the size of Texas. Now, I see my kids doing the same thing. Sometimes, they come together to play in these imaginary worlds, and sometimes they are off on their own adventures. One of the reasons I enjoyed reading Calvin Sparks and the Crossing to Cambria, was that it reminded me of what it was like to be a kid and have a place where I could ride a dragon, fight monsters, and use magic to make my bed.

Book Summary:

calvin sparks“I told you,” said Perry. “I told you we’d find it.” Calvin smiled and shook his head at Perry.
“You were right, Calvin,” Anna said, standing in awe. “You were absolutely right.”

For years, Calvin’s grandfather has told him stories about a cabin deep in the woods that holds an amazing secret. Then one day Calvin and his two best friends find the cabin. Inside they discover more than just the world’s coolest clubhouse. This is The Crossing—a magical portal that takes them to another world.
Soon all three are in Cambria, a fantastic world filled with bizarre people, wonderful food, real magic, and even dragons! There Calvin learns that his family has a secret history and he’s swept up in the same dangerous mission that got his father killed thirteen years ago.
Can Calvin, Anna, and Perry stand up to the evil sorcerer Galigore and his grotesque minions? Or is Calvin doomed to follow in his father’s footsteps? This epic adventure story is perfect for kids and parents alike. Full of action, adventure, mystery, and magic, it’s an entertaining read that will keep you guessing.

You can purchase a copy of the book by clicking here.

** I was given a copy of the book by the author to review.

Author: Christina Dymock

Award-winning author of The Hungry Family Slow-Cooker Cookbook, One Dirty Bowl, The Academic Bride, Undercover Engagement, Young Chefs, 101 Things to Do with Popcorn, and the Widow's Mite.

Leave a Reply

